Travel Trips

The way to Bhutan

There are two ways to enter/Travel in Bhutan.

  1. Travel by Air

At present Paro is the only International Airport in Bhutan. There are two carriers operate to Bhutan, Drukair and Bhutan Airlines. There are flights to destinations that include Bangkok, Delhi, Kolkata, Bagdogra, Bodh Gaya, Dhaka, Kathmandu, Guwahati, Singapore and Mumbai.


2. Travel by Land

The southern part of Bhutan namely Phuentsholing, Gelephu and Samdrup Jongkhar are the only land border areas open to tourists.



All visitors to Bhutan need a visa which can be either produced by international operator who has partner in Bhutan or directly by Bhutanese operator except visitors from India, Bangladesh and Maldives. However, on the port of entry they have to produce valid passport with a minimum of 6 month validity (Indian nationals may also use their Voters Identity Card (VIC)).



Bhutan’s currency is called the Ngultrum (Nu.) and it is at par with the Indian rupee which is accepted as legal tender in the country. INR (Indian Rupees) denominations of 500 and 1000 are not accepted in Bhutan. For dollar exchange rate please visit the following website